Thursday, 21st October, 2021

After “Northern Thunder” Will There Be Rain?

When 350 thousand troops from 20 countries join a military exercise that involves over 20 thousand tanks,250 jet fighters and more than 400 helicopters, then there is a lot of thunder.


Joint military exercises are seldom this big or complicated. The last major joint exercise was Nato’s “Trident Junction” in Spain last October which involved 30 nation but a total number of participating troops of 36, 000. March last year also witnessed the usual US involvement in bilateral military exercises with South Korea that involved 300 thousand Korean troops and 15 thousand American. The latter was “massive” but considered relatively routine given the long history of joint military exercises between the two allied countries that goes back to 1997.
By contrast, successfully organizing a joint exercise involving 20 countries that are neither part any formal defence cooperation agreement or have never held such an exercise together seems a challenging undertaking that has evidently been intended to send a political message that is very loud and clear. This month’s “Northern Thunder”, the Saudi-led joint military exercise was therefore potent and indicative of a new trend in the region.

As the Norther Thunder exercise got underway, very different reactions emerged as to the likely impact and future implication of these military wargames. Some saw it as “Sound and Fury Meaning Nothing” others feared that “WWIII could start this month” with the suggestion that the exercise roll into a full-scale invasion of Syria while Russia is still conducting ground operations.

However, it is suggested that understanding the value, and potential of the exercises, needs proper consideration of the geostrategic environment in which the Saudi-led exercise took place:

Though “Northern Thunder” involved 20 states, widely described as Sunni Muslim countries, a closer look reveals the regional dimension of shared security concerns. The exercise has involved countries both east and west of the Arabian Peninsula all of which are affected or could be affected by the threat from extremist militancy and opportunistic, hegemonic power plays. Asia and Africa are the most conflict intensive continents in the world. From Daesh to Boko Haram to Hezbollah the spread of armed militias and factions in the region have spread instability and elevated the risk of conflict.

The involvement of African nations in the exercise, even if symbolic in the case of Comoros, signifies the importance of Africa for Middle East security. The Houthi threat to close the Strait of Mandab, the still lurking threat from Somali piracy, the threat of Boko Haram actually aligning with Daesh, and the potential spread of militant chaos from Libya down into central Africa and across to the Maghreb has compelled Arab nations to recognise the need to invest in Africa’s security.

Most commentators, noting the absence of Lebanon and Iran from Northern Thunder, were quick to invoke the Sunni-Shite polarity, though Pakistan participated with both Sunni and Shite troops as did many other states including Kuwait. However, Iran’s absence is actually a result of a region wide understanding of the risk posed by Iran’s effort to pursue its own path towards creating as self-fashioned regional security structure.  Iran is fighting in Syria with the Russians and fighting in Iraq with the US and is expanding its sphere of influence through destabilizing elements in Lebanon, Yemen as well as in Bahrain and Kuwait.  With some easing of Western pressure, Iran seems to be banking on its own ability to build a new security structure through the very insecurity it continues to foment.

Also notably basement from the exercise was the involvement of allies from outside the region, particularly the Gulf’s traditional Western allies. This seems especially significant in light of how the region is trying to build independent security capacity without reliance on the United States or Europe. While this is partly linked to the Obama administration’s desire to row back from Middle East further imbroglios, thus creating a security vacuum and an opportunity for Iran to expand its regional influence; an influence the region is determined to roll back.

The Russian re-entry in the region, through its current operations against Daesh in Syria is also another factor in understanding “Northern Thunder”. Russia’s proclaimed enthusiasm for combating terrorism has given it license to re-engage in international military operations across the region and beyond.  While Russia is supposedly in in Syria to fight Daesh, it has been at least as active in shoring up the Assad regime.  At the same time, the US is back in Iraq - and of course, Iran is participating in both theatres. The implications of the possible clash between Russia and Turkey is a stark reminder of the consequences of such interference. The fact that Saudi Arabia and other Arab states have expressed willingness to provide ground troops to fight Daesh in Syria and that they announced an Islamic Alliance to fight terrorism and armed militias in the region reflects a will to limit further international interference in the name of countering terrorism.

Arguably, it is the security challenges that have drawn a new US and Russian military presence back to the region that now requires the countries of the region to develop greater military unity. After Northern Thunder, it seems possible that Saudi and the Gulf states are closer to creating a permanent security structure that would provide indigenous capacity to deal with existing and emerging security threats.

The Arab League’s announcement during the Sharm Al Sheikh summit in 2015, concerning the establishment of an Arab Joint Force, was immediately interpreted by some commentators as the prelude to the development of an “Arab Nato”. Equally, many observers dismissed the announcement as just another part of the “legacy” of the Arab League rhetoric. Nonetheless, the Norther Thunder exercises seem to have short-circuited the Arab League’s discourse and has also gone beyond the 22 member states’ jurisdiction; expanding to become a larger strategic framework to meet a wider set of challenges.

Northern Thunder may have ended with a ceremonial parade on 10 March 2016, but its impact may be more subtle. The massive military exercise can become the basis for stronger security coordination between participating states in a region surrounded by as many threats as opportunities. Avoiding the complex stage of building a standing Joint Force, Northern Thunder could readily become an annual exercise overseen by an allied coordinating committee that is able to identify lessons learned to enable the participating states to develop capacities that allow a faster, and more effective response to a broader range of security threats. This coordination could embrace issues from logistics to command and control protocols. Northern Thunder can also involve smaller and mission specific war games bilaterally or multilaterally. Such events would help to set the conditions for more robust security coordination that would enhance the strategic depth of the region and the magnitude of the challenges.
As a result, Northern Thunder is potentially the closest thing to a meaningful emerging cross-continental security structure that has outreach and political well way beyond what Iran can provide. 

Originally published in Khaleej Times 24 April 2016

Mohammed Abdul Rahman Baharoon

Mohammed Abdul Rahman Baharoon

Vice Executive Director.

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Geo-strategy
  • Reputation and soft power
  • Public Policy and International Relations

Education

  • Master’s degree in English Literature from Texas Tech University in 1995
  • English Major from Kuwait University in 1987

Bio

Mohammed Baharoon is the Director Genearl of b’huth, which he established with Ahmed Al Mansoori in 2002 in Dubai, UAE.

Mohammed Baharoon attained his master’s degree in English Literature from Texas Tech University in 1995 and his English Major from Kuwait University in 1987. Baharoon found reading literature helped him create the big picture since he always needed to listen to things that were not said. This led to a career in media where he worked as a reporter for Al Arabi Magazine, which was a premier cultural monthly in the Arab World.

Mohammed continued his media career as a writer for Al Ittihad newspaper and then as an Editor for Gulf Defence Magazine. A turning point for him was when he started to see that the worlds of literature and politics were not very different.

It was a launching point for the establishment of b’huth. Since then, Baharoon has been reading world politics as the ultimate literary genre where fact and fiction are two faces of the same coin.

السبت, 4 ديسمبر, 2021

بعد "رعد الشمال" هل سيكون هناك مطر؟

عندما يشارك 350 ألف جندي من مختلف القوات البرية والبحرية والجوية على متن 20 ألف دبابة و2500 طائرة و 400 مروحية وغواصات وقطع بحرية وبرمائية في عملية تدريب مشتركة فإن مسرح العمليات ذلك يأخذ الأنفاس.


 إن أخر التدريبات العسكرية التي خاضتها الدول الكبرى أو المنظمات الإقليمية لم تكن أكبر حجما. ففي نوفمبر الماضي قام الناتو بتنظيم مناورة تاريدنت جنكشن في إسبانيا اشترك فيها أكثر من 30 دولة لكن عدد الجنود لم يتجاوز 36 ألف جندي. كما شهد مارس العام الماضي تدريبات وصف حجمها بأنها "غير مسبوق" ضمت 315 ألف جندي كوري جنوبي وأمريكي ولكنها كانت تدريبات بين دولتين هناك تطابق كبير بين معداتهم العسكرية وتربطهم معاهدات عسكرية وتدريب مشترك منذ عام 1997. ولكن أن يحدث ذلك بين عشرين دولة لا يربطها اتفاقية دفاعية موحدة ولا تنظم جميعها تحت منظومة إقليمية واحدة ولم يسبق أن جمعها تدريب عسكري واحد. وعلى الرغم من أن تمثيل بعض الدول كاد يكون رمزيا، فإن جمع الإرادة السياسية لتلك المشاركة في حد ذاته أمر بالغ الأهمية.

لقد تفاوتت ردود الفعل الإعلامية مع مناورات "رعد الشمال" من  وصفها على أنها مجرد عمل "استعراضي ولا يعني شيئا"، إلى  انتقادها على أنها محاولة "لبدء حرب عالمية ثالثة في المنطقة"  ولكن تقدير أهمية تلك التمرينات العسكرية غير المسبوقة يتطلب النظر إلى  الظروف السياسية والاستراتيجية التي تحيط بها.

ويمكن النظر إلى عدة عوامل أساسية كمحددات للسياق الاستراتيجي لتدريبات رعد الشمال:

رعد الشمال ضمت 20 دولة تم تصويرها على أنها دول إسلامية سنية ولكن الناظر لها يرى أنها دول أبرزت البعد الإقليمي للتهديدات التي تواجه المنطقة حيث أنها ضمت دولا من آسيا وأفريقيا وجميعها دول حدودها تتماس مع مناطق صراعات أو انتشار لمجموعات مسلحة. إن آسيا وأفريقيا هي أكثر القارات في العالم تعرضا للصراعات فمن داعش إلى الشباب فبوكو حرام وحزب الله (سواء في لبنان أو العراق أو دول الخليج أو حتى نيجيريا) فإن عدم الاستقرار الذي تسببه الجماعات المسلحة غير الحكومية هو سمة المنطقة.

التواجد الأفريقي في تلك العمليات يشير بوضوح إلى أهمية أفريقيا في المحيط الاتيجي العربي والخليجي حيث أن العديد من التحديات التي تواجهها الدول العربية ترتبط بشكل عضوي بأفريقيا سواء كان ذلك على مستوى تهديد الحوثي بأغلاق باب المندب أو الدور الذي لعبه القراصنة في الصومال أو احتمال انتشار داعش جنوبا من ليبيا إلى وسط أفريقيا. وهذا الطرح الذي يربط بين الأمن الإقليمي العربي والأفريقي ويتعدى الدول الأعضاء في الجامعة العربية له دلالات واسعة حول مدى الثقل الإقليمي الذي تمثله الدول العربية واتساع حيزها الاستراتيجي خارج نطاق القوى الإقليمية الأخرى.

الغياب الإيراني عن تلك المناورات جعلها تبدوا مستهدفة من تلك المناورات وعليه تم توصيفه المناورات على أنها تحالف سني على الرغم من أن دول مختلفة منها باكستان لديها عدد كبير من الشيعة في قواتها المسلحة. غير أن مناورات رعد الشمال جاءت في توقيت تحاول فيه إيران أن تدفع بقوة مشاركتها في ملف الأمن الإقليمي وقدرتها على أن تكون جزء من حل الأزمات الأمنية في المنطقة في حين أنها جزء أساسي من تلك الأزمات.

عدم مشاركة أي قوة غربية في التدريبات يشير بشكل أساسي إلى أن المنطقة تنظر إلى تنمية قدراتها الذاتية في العمل العسكري المشترك بمعزل عن حلفائها التقليديين، ويرتبط ذلك بالتغير الاستراتيجي الأمريكي في المنطقة وقرارها إعادة النظر في حجم تواجدها العسكري ما خلق فراغا أمنيا تحاول إيران تحديدا أن تستغله لتوسعة نفوذها الإقليمي في المنطقة وفرض دورا أمنيا إقليميا لها وهو ما حدا بدول المنطقة لأن تطور قدرات استجابتها لتلك التحديات ذاتيا.

التواجد الروسي في العمليات ضد داعش في سوريا والذي جعل مكافحة الإرهاب أحد جسور التدخل العسكري في المنطقة. وقد هدد التواجد الروسي في سوريا، ودعم الرئيس بشار المباشر إلى تعقيد الأوضاع وخلق احتكاكا مع تركيا هدد بلجوء تركيا للبند الخامس في اتفاقية دول الناتو ما يستدعي تدخل حلف الناتو لمساندة تركيا عسكريا ضد أي هجوم روسي. وقد كان إعلان السعودية عن تأسيس تحالف إسلامي ضد الإرهاب جزء من الصورة الأوسع لتحمل المنطقة مسئولية استعادة الإسلام ممن الإرهابيين ومنع تواجد مجموعات مثل داعش من أن تكون عامل استقطاب لتدخلات عسكرية قد تفاقم الوضع أكثر مما تعالجه.

إن تحديد هدف "التعامل مع القوات غير النظامية والجماعات الإرهابية" كهدف أساسي من تمرينات رعد الشمال يشير إلى فهم أدق لطبيعة التهديدات والتي لا تركز فقط على الجماعات الإرهابية ولكنها تأخذ في عين الاعتبار القوات غير النظامية من مليشيات وأذرع عسكرية للأحزاب السياسية والتي تمثل أحد أهم عناصر عدم الاستقرار في المنطقة.

إن التحدي الأمني الذي أدى إلى تواجد أمريكي وروسي وأوربي في المنطقة يتطلب أن تقف دول المنطقة جميعا في وجهه، وربما كنا اليوم، وبعد رعد الشمال، أقرب لتعاون عسكري يجمع دول المنطقة ويبني قدراتها الدفاعية ويؤسس لقدرتها على التعامل مع التهديدات التي تمر بها وتلك الناشئة.

إن الظروف التي تمر بها الدول العربية اليوم أقرب للظروف التي مرت بها أوروبا في منتصف القرن الماضي والذي أدت لنشوء تحالف الناتو. إن تهديد القوى الإقليمية التي تصر على بناء قواتها العسكرية والتدخل عن طريق وسائل الحرب اللامتماثلة، لاسيما المجموعات المسلحة والإرهابية، سيؤدي لتوتر إقليمي أوسع ما يتطلب تعاونا إقليميا قبل التعاون الدولي للتصدي له

وقد جاء إعلان الجامعة العربية عن تأسيس القوة العربية المشتركة في قمتها المنعقدة في شرم الشيخ في 2015 وما تلاه من توقيع عدد من الدول على بروتوكول تأسيس تلك القوة بمثابة قرار تأسيس "ناتو عربي" وهو قرار رآه العديد من الناس جزء من الإرث اللفظي للجامعة العربية التي تقول أكثر مما تفعل لاسيما وأن مجلس الدفاع المشترك كان جزءا من معاهدة الدفاع المشترك والتعاون الاقتصادي التي وقع عليها أعضاء الجامعة العربية في 1950. إلا أن مناورات رعد الشمال يبدوا وأنها تجاوزت لفظيات الجامعة العربية وتجاوزت صلاحياتها المتمثلة في نطاق الدول ال 22 للجامعة العربية وارتقت لتحديات المنطقة وجوارها الاستراتيجي.

ورغم أن عمليات "رعد الشمال" قد انتهت في العاشر من مارس 2016 فإنها مرشحة أن تكون نواة تنسيق عسكري أمني مهم في منطقة تحوطها من المخاطر بقدر ما فيها من الإمكانات، وقبل التفكير في مرحلة "القوات المشتركة" فإن تحول التمرينات "رعد الشمال" إلى تمرين سنوي له لجنة تنسيقية تعقد بشكل مستمر للاستفادة من نتائج ودروس تلك التمرينات لرفع درجة الاستجابة ومعالجة جوانب الخلل في التكامل والاتفاق على بروتوكولات التعامل وعقد مناورات جانبية خلال السنة بشكل ثنائي أو متعدد لعمليات متخصصة سيمثل أرضية قوية لمستقبل التنسيق الأمني الإقليمي والذي يستند على الثقل الاستراتيجي للمنطقة. من يرى رعد الشمال لابد أن يتذكر مقولة سقراط لزوجته زنتيب" بعد كل هذه الرعود فلا بد من هطول المطر".

محمدعبد الرحمن باهرون

محمدعبد الرحمن باهرون

نائب المدير التنفيذي

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • جيو-استراتيجية
  • السمعة والقوة الناعمة
  • السياسة العامة والعلاقات الدولية

التعليم

  • حاصل على درجة الماجستير في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة تكساس التقنية عام 1995
  • تخصص اللغة الإنجليزية من جامعة الكويت عام 1987

السيرة الشخصية

محمد باهرون هو المدير العام لمركز بحوث، الذي أسسه مع أحمد المنصوري في عام 2002 في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

حصل محمد باهرون على درجة الماجستير في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة تكساس للتكنولوجيا عام 1995 وماجستير اللغة الإنجليزية من جامعة الكويت عام 1987. ووجد أن أدب القراءة ساعده في تكوين الصورة الكبيرة لأنه كان يحتاج دائمًا إلى الاستماع إلى أشياء لم يتم قولها. أدى ذلك إلى مهنة في مجال الإعلام حيث عمل كمراسل لمجلة العربي، والتي كانت شهرية ثقافية ممتازة في العالم العربي.

واصل محمد مسيرته المهنية في مجال الإعلام ككاتب لجريدة الاجتهاد، ثم عمل كمحرّر لمجلة تحدي الخليج. كانت نقطة تحول بالنسبة له عندما بدأ يرى أن عوالم الأدب والسياسة لم تكن مختلفة تمامًا.

لقد كانت نقطة انطلاق لإنشاء مركز بحوث. منذ ذلك الحين يقرأ باهرون السياسة العالمية باعتبارها النوع الأدبي النهائي حيث الحقيقة والخيال وجهان لعملة واحدة.