Thursday, 26th May, 2022

Assessing Houthi Attacks on UAE: Propaganda Backfire

The missile attack early morning of 31st January was the third of what is designed to be a weekly attack on the UAE by Houthi terrorist group. The attack, like its previous attacks, was intercepted by UAE air-defense forces and resulted on an immediate raid by UAE air forces to destroy the rocket launcher in Al Jawf district.


The missile attack early morning of 31st January was the third of what is designed to be a weekly attack on the UAE by Houthi terrorist group.

The attack, like its previous attacks, was intercepted by UAE air-defense forces and resulted on an immediate raid by UAE air forces to destroy the rocket launcher in Al Jawf district.

Considering the UAE air defense capability, and the distance the missiles need to travel from Al Jawf to UAE, it is easy to predict that the Houthis would expect a successful interception of their inbound missiles. The repeated attacks therefore have little ability to achieve any real military objectives. However, the objectives may not be really military.

Assessing Military Significance

  1. The attacks did not achieve any military gain for Houthis so far. It didn’t stop the coalition attacks on Houthis; it didn’t stop the military operation in Marib, and it didn’t lead to dismantling the Giant’s Brigades. Houthi can only claim that they have extended their theater of operation to reach the UAE, which is something they have claimed previously.
  2. The attacks also have directly resulted in the reinvolvement of UAE air forces in preforming raids inside Houthi controlled areas.
  3. The Houthi attacks also have triggered an international support to the coalition which resulted in supporting attacks in cities like Sana’a and Hodeida that the coalition has avoided for over two years.
  4. The attacks have failed in affecting any critical infrastructure in the UAE, let alone everyday life
  5. The attack has nonetheless explained the extent of Houthi missile arsenal and its developments which makes the case for the danger of extending the reach of Houthi’s to attack other countries involved in the coalition or supporting its operations such as Eritrea, Soudan, Egypt, or Bahrain. Houthis have also repeatedly threatened Israel but have never acted upon that threat

The Communication Significance

The lack of military significance indicates that they are used to achieve political objectives, rather than military, which explain their propaganda attributes including:

  1. 1. Houthis have cognitively chosen Monday, for three consecutive attacks at least, as a weekly time for the attacks. This is designed to create rhythm and a “Pavloff” conditioning effect. This is a tactic that is supposed to create anticipation and their for magnify the impact of any small attack.
  2. The Houthis have repeatedly used the attacks to warn business and tourist to “leave” the UAE, claiming the targeting of Expo or even Burj Khalifa, or even spreading rumors about explosions at Expo site are all part of that “terror tactic”. This has been repeated by media outlets supporting the Houthis in Iran and Lebanon and Iraq.
  3. The attack of 31st January used the visit of the Israeli president to the UAE as an excuse which is part of their anti-semetic and anti-US discourse designed to gain wider support within the radical support base.

The Outcomes of Houthi Attacks

There are several outcomes from the three attacks so far that are possibly not what the Houthis have planned for.

  1. The proliferation of Missile and UCAV technology will be a major agenda item for regional and global security. It will drive international action and Houthis will be at the heart of the discussion. Taliban owning Stinger Missiles will be a breeze compared to Houthi’s cruise missiles and long-range UCAV.
  2. The attacks provided unprecedent international support for coalition strikes inside Sana’a, in accordance with international law. Something the coalition have refrained from for a while.
  3. The role of Hodeida Port has also been brought back into the limelight. The confidence the Stockholm Agreement displayed in the Houthis, have eroded immensely because of issues like Safer, Rawabi and the trafficking of missile part. Hodeida is now obviously a major enabler for the expansion of the Houthi Missile and Drone Program.
  4. Most significantly the attacks have brought the issue of armed non-state actors as a security of global proportions. The terrorism designation is an interim means to address this, but the international community, particularly the Security Council will soon need to address the proliferation of armed non-state actors in the region more wholistically.

 

Mohammed Abdul Rahman Baharoon

Mohammed Abdul Rahman Baharoon

Director General

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Geo-strategy
  • Reputation and soft power
  • Public Policy and International Relations

Education

  • Master’s degree in English Literature from Texas Tech University in 1995
  • English Major from Kuwait University in 1987

Bio

Mohammed Baharoon is the Director Genearl of b’huth, which he established with Ahmed Al Mansoori in 2002 in Dubai, UAE.

Mohammed Baharoon attained his master’s degree in English Literature from Texas Tech University in 1995 and his English Major from Kuwait University in 1987. Baharoon found reading literature helped him create the big picture since he always needed to listen to things that were not said. This led to a career in media where he worked as a reporter for Al Arabi Magazine, which was a premier cultural monthly in the Arab World.

Mohammed continued his media career as a writer for Al Ittihad newspaper and then as an Editor for Gulf Defence Magazine. A turning point for him was when he started to see that the worlds of literature and politics were not very different.

It was a launching point for the establishment of b’huth. Since then, Baharoon has been reading world politics as the ultimate literary genre where fact and fiction are two faces of the same coin.

الخميس, 26 مايو, 2022

تقييم الهجمات الحوثية على الإمارات: أهداف عسكرية أم دعائية

الهجوم الصاروخي على دولة الإمارات في صباح 31 يناير كان الهجوم الثالث مما أصبح "هجوما إسبوعيا" على الأراضي الإماراتية من قبل الجماعات الحوثية الإرهابية كسابقه من الهجمات، فإن الصواريخ تم اعتراضها من قبل الدفاع الجوي الإماراتي كما أدى إلى هجمات فورية دمرت المنصات الصاروخية التي انطلقت منها الهجمات في منطقة الجوف في شمال اليمن.


الهجوم الصاروخي على دولة الإمارات في صباح 31 يناير كان الهجوم الثالث مما أصبح "هجوما إسبوعيا" على الأراضي الإماراتية من قبل الجماعات الحوثية الإرهابية كسابقه من الهجمات، فإن الصواريخ تم اعتراضها من قبل الدفاع الجوي الإماراتي كما أدى إلى هجمات فورية دمرت المنصات الصاروخية التي انطلقت منها الهجمات في منطقة الجوف في شمال اليمن.

بالنظر إلى قدرات الدفاع الجوي الإماراتي (أول دولة خليجية تستخدم منظومة ثاد للدفاع الجوي) إضافة إلى مسافة الطيران التي تحتاجها الصواريخ الحوثية بين الجوف والإمارات والتي تحد من نوعية الصواريخ التي يمكن استخدامها، فلن يغيب على الحوثيين أن الدفاعات الجوية الإماراتية قادرة على التصدي لصواريخهم. وعليه فإن تكرار الهجمات لن يحقق أي أهداف عسكرية حقيقية، وبالتالي فإن أهداف الهجوم قد لا تكون بالفعل عسكرية.

تقييم الأهمية العسكرية للهجمات

  1. لم تحقق الهجمات أي مكاسب عسكرية للحوثيين حتى الآن. فلا هي أوقفت عمليات التحالف ضد الحوثيين، كما أنها لم توقف الاشتباكات في جبهات القتال المختلفة كما أنها أيضا لم تؤد إلى حل ألوية العمالقة كما طالبوا. الشيء الوحيد الذي يستطيع الحوثيون ادعاءه هو قدرتهم على توسيع مسرح عملياتهم ليتضمن الإمارات وهو ادعاء ليس بجديد.
  2. الهجمات أدت إلى عودة انخراط الإمارات في تنفيذ هجمات جوية في المناطق التي يسيطر عليها الحوثيون.
  3. الهجمات الحوثية أدت إلى موجة من الدعم الدولي الواسع للتحالف وهو ما أدى إلى دعم تنفيذ هجمات في مدن مثل صنعاء والحديدة وهي مناطق تحاشاها التحالف لما يزيد عن عامين.
  4. فشلت الهجمات في التأثير على أي بنية تحتية في الإمارات، كما أنها لم تؤثر حتى على الحياة اليومية في مختلف مدن الدولة.
  5. غير أن الهجوم وضح مدى خطورة الترسانة الصاروخية للحوثيين وتطورها منذ بدء الحرب ما يوضح مخاطر توسيع مدى الصواريخ الحوثية والتي تسمح لها بتهديد دول أخرى مشاركة في التحالف أو داعمة لعملياته مثل اريتريا والسودان ومصر والبحرين. كما أن الحوثيين قد هددوا بشكل متكرر إسرائيل رغم أنهم لم ينفذوا أيا من تلك التهديدات.

القيمة الدعائية للهجمات

إن غياب القيمة العسكرية للهجمات الحوثية المتكررة يوضح أنه يتم استخدامها لتحقيق أهداف سياسية وليست عسكرية، وهو ما يفسر صفات الهجمات الدعائية مثل:

  1. لقد اختار الحوثيون وبشكل متعمد يوم الإثنين لثلاثة هجمات متعاقبة وذلك في توقيت اسبوعي للهجمات. ويهدف ذلك الاختيار إلى خلق رتم محدد للهجمات وتأثير أشبه بالارتباط الشرطي لبافلوف. ويهدف هذا التكتيك إلى خلق درجة من الترقب والمخاوف التي يمكن أن تضاعف حجم أي هجوم مهما صغر حجمه وتأثيره.
  2. استخدم الحوثيون الهجوم بشكل مستمر لتحذير رجال الأعمال والسياح لمغادرة الإمارات كما ادعوا استهداف إكسبو 2020 وبرج خليفة وحتى نشر شائعات حول تفجيرات في موقع إكسبو وجميع ذلك جزء من "تكتيكات الرعب". وقد تم دعم تلك الادعاءات من قبل مواقع تدعم الحوثيين بما في ذلك في إيران ولبنان والعراق.
  3. هجمات 31 يناير استخدمت التزامن مع زيارة الرئيس الإسرائيلي للإمارات كعذر للهجوم وهو جزء من طرح المعادي لليهود والأمريكيين الذي يستخدمه الحوثيون في صرخته ويهدف إلى الحصول على تعاطف من قواعد مناصريهم من المتشددين.

نتائج الهجمات الحوثية

هناك عدة نتائج للهجمات الحوثية الثلاثة وربما لا تكون النتائج التي أمل الحوثيون لتحقيقها.

  1. ساهم الحوثيون في ترسيخ أهمية وضع انتشار تقنيات الصواريخ البالستية والطائرات المسيرة المهاجمة على أجندة الأمن الإقليمي والدولي. وسيقود ذلك جهود المجتمع الدولي للتصدي لتلك الظاهرة الخطيرة وسيكون الحوثييون في قلب ذلك الجهد. إن الخطر الذي واجهه العالم بامتلاك مجموعة مثل طالبان لصواريخ ستينغر أثناء نشوء القاعدة سيكون أمرا بالغ السهولة مقابل امتلاك الحوثيين صواريخ بالستية  وطائرات مسيرة مهاجمة بعيدة المدى
  2. وفر الهجوم دعما دوليا غير مسبوق لهجمات التحالف في مدن مثل صنعاء وذلك ضد أهداف مشروعة وبموجب القانون الدولي، وهو دعم كان يتحاشى المجتمع الدولي تقديمه منذ فترة طويلة.
  3. دور ميناء الحديدة عادة ليتصدر واجهة عمليات التحالف. فالثقة التي منحها اتفاق ستوكهولم للحوثيين قد فقدت أسسها بشكل كبير بسبب قضايا مثل سفينة صافر وخطف سفينة الروابي واستخدام ميناء الحديدة كأساس لتهريب قطع الصوارخ. إن الحديدة أصبحت بشكل واضح ممكن رئيسي لتطوير برنامج الصواريخ البالستية والطائرات المسيرة الحوثية لتبلغ ما بلغته اليوم.
  4. بشكل أكبر فإن الهجمات الأخيرة أعادت طرح مخاطر الجماعات المسلحة التي تعمل خارج إطار الدولة كأحد أبرز مخاطر الأمن الدولي. وفي حين أن تصنيف تلك المجموعات كمجموعة إرهابية قد يكون حلا مؤقتا فإن المجتمع الدولي، لاسيما مجلس الأمن الدولي، يحتاج للنظر إلى انتشار المجموعات المسلحة خارج الدولة بشكل أكثر شمولا.
محمدعبد الرحمن باهرون

محمدعبد الرحمن باهرون

المدير العام

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • جيو-استراتيجية
  • السمعة والقوة الناعمة
  • السياسة العامة والعلاقات الدولية

التعليم

  • حاصل على درجة الماجستير في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة تكساس التقنية عام 1995
  • تخصص اللغة الإنجليزية من جامعة الكويت عام 1987

السيرة الشخصية

محمد باهرون هو المدير العام لمركز بحوث، الذي أسسه مع أحمد المنصوري في عام 2002 في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

حصل محمد باهرون على درجة الماجستير في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة تكساس للتكنولوجيا عام 1995 وماجستير اللغة الإنجليزية من جامعة الكويت عام 1987. ووجد أن أدب القراءة ساعده في تكوين الصورة الكبيرة لأنه كان يحتاج دائمًا إلى الاستماع إلى أشياء لم يتم قولها. أدى ذلك إلى مهنة في مجال الإعلام حيث عمل كمراسل لمجلة العربي، والتي كانت شهرية ثقافية ممتازة في العالم العربي.

واصل محمد مسيرته المهنية في مجال الإعلام ككاتب لجريدة الاجتهاد، ثم عمل كمحرّر لمجلة تحدي الخليج. كانت نقطة تحول بالنسبة له عندما بدأ يرى أن عوالم الأدب والسياسة لم تكن مختلفة تمامًا.

لقد كانت نقطة انطلاق لإنشاء مركز بحوث. منذ ذلك الحين يقرأ باهرون السياسة العالمية باعتبارها النوع الأدبي النهائي حيث الحقيقة والخيال وجهان لعملة واحدة.