Thursday, 21st October, 2021

Cyber Attacks: what we know and what we can do about it

Security can never be assured. Whether our security resides in a guard keeping watch by the fire, or ranks of archers on great walls, or masses of nuclear weapons, security is relative, never absolute. And that is especially true for defense against a cyber-attack. At the Group of Seven summit in Germany, commenting on a massive data breach into US personnel files of roughly 4 million government workers, President Barack Obama said, “We have known for a long time that there are significant vulnerabilities, and that these vulnerabilities are going to accelerate as time goes by, both in systems within government and within the private sector."


Cyber-attacks, by definition, are socially or politically motivated attacks carried out primarily through the Internet. As the internet has grown and as more devices access the web, the number and severity of cyber-attacks has grown.  US federal agencies reported over 5 thousand attacks in 2006, nearly 12 k in 2007, 17k in 2008, 30k in 2009, growing to 48,562 in 2012. Cisco reported attacks rising 12% from 2013 to 2014.   Hannah Kuchler wrote in the Financial Times that pharmaceuticals, chemicals, agriculture, mining and electronics all saw increases in the malware targeted at them of more than 600 per cent, while attempts to breach security in the energy, oil and gas industries rose by more than 400 per cent. Levi Gundert wrote that increased cyber-attacks correspond to increases in geopolitical events or other news.  For example, cyber-criminal attempts to hack retailers and wholesalers rose by more than 100 per cent after news that Target had lost data from over 70 million customers.

The phenomenon is world-wide. The security firm, Kaspersky, maintains an online threat tracking map http://cybermap.kaspersky.com/  
Based on Kaspersky data, cyber-attacks occur most frequently in Russia, followed by the US, Germany, India and Vietnam.  The UAE comes in at #24 of the countries suffering the greatest number of attacks and the number is increasing.

Not only are cyber-attacks growing in number, they are becoming more sophisticated and difficult to detect.  On average an organization takes six months even to detect an intrusion.   In 2014 Kaspersky Laboratories uncovered the most sophisticated cyber threat it had ever seen, called The Mask. The Mask has evidently been around since 2007 and has taken over thousands of IP addresses in dozens of countries. Experts say that The Mask most likely originated in a Spanish-speaking country and seems to be targeted at oil and gas companies, presumably including those in UAE.  Discovery of The Mask, and other threats led President Obama in early 2014 to make cybersecurity a priority, saying, “Cyber-threats pose one of the gravest national security dangers…”

“Cyberspace is not just a domain where information can be stolen — it is a place where sabotage and disruption could be geared toward a strategic end,” according to Stratfor Global Intelligence.  Furthermore, determining the perpetrator's identity and intent is next to impossible.  Since cyber-espionage provides the cover of anonymity and safety with lower risk than traditional tactics, perpetrators find it rewarding to deploy more and more personnel against more and more targets.  A broader base of targets widens the sphere of defense decreasing defenders’ ability to concentrate resources on the most precious and vulnerable assets.

In actuality there is little that can be done to discourage cyber-attack, despite US blustering about economic sanctions or declaring that cyber-attacks constitute an act of war.

Possibly more fruitful will be recent US indictments for officers of China's People's Liberation Army over alleged state-sponsored industrial espionage.  The teeth in a criminal indictment means that individuals indicted risk extradition to the US if they travel to a country with extradition treaties. Indictments feed a more general strategy of attempting to set some boundaries and rules of conduct in cyberspace analogous to the written and unwritten rules that govern physical war and espionage with a goal to reduce the chance of strategic miscalculations.

Another fruitful approach is to tackle cyber defense across a broad array of targets by sharing information. InfraGard is a non-profit organization serving as a public-private partnership between U.S. businesses and the Federal Bureau of Investigation to collaborate on National Infrastructure Protection. The organization encourages information sharing and analysis among businesses, academic institutions, state and local law enforcement agencies, and others.  InfraGard has mutual nondisclosure agreements among its members and the FBI to promote trusted discussions of vulnerabilities and solutions that companies and individuals may be hesitant to place in the public domain.

Local chapters regularly meet to discuss the latest threats or listen to talks from subject matter experts.  As of July, 2012, the organization reported membership including the FBI was over 54 thousand, including experts in cyber protection of these sectors: Chemical, Commercial Facilities, Communications, Critical Manufacturing, Dams, Defense Industrial Base, Emergency Services, Energy, Financial Services, Food and Agriculture, Government Facilities, Healthcare and Public Health, Information Technology, Nuclear Reactors, Materials and Waste, Transportation Systems, Water and Wastewater Treatment Systems.

Despite criticism, fear-mongering and hacking by misguided libertarians who content that InfraGard constitutes some super spy network for the government, the truth is simpler.  Facing the awesome challenge that cyber-security presents to millions of technicians, each working alone on a keyboard to guard data network servers, information sharing may just be any nation’s final best line of defense.

Kay Wise

Kay Wise

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Team Building and Management
  • Process Design with Workflow
  • Relational Database Design and Analysis
  • Writing and Consulting

Education

  • Bachelor and Master of Arts, Summa Cum Laude
    History, English, Education, and Computer Science
    From universities in Nebraska, USA

Bio

Started career in 1964 doing program management at the American National Red Cross. In the 70’s I did semantic network research at Creighton University. During the 80’s, designed and developed management information systems on Tandem RDBMS at Applied Communications Inc. Started the Wise Choice Consulting Co. in 1988. Directed Oracle ERP and CMM SEPG for First Data Corp, before moving to Dubai, UAE, where I designed and managed SharePoint with Data polis Process SystemK for b`huth.

In 2013 returned to Omaha to live and work, continuing to write and consult on business systems and process improvement. Living ART fully.

الخميس, 25 يوليو, 2024

الهجمات الالكترونية: ما هي وكيف يمكن معالجتها

لا يمكن ضمان الأمن. سواء قمنا بتعيين حراس على مدار الساعة أم وضعنا مجموعة من الرماة على الجداران العالية أو حتى ترسانة من الأسلحة النووية. ويعتبر الأمن مسألة نسبية حيث لا يوجد أمن مطلق. وينطبق ذلك في حالة الدفاع ضد الهجمات الالكترونية. قال الرئيس باراك أوباما في قمة مجموعة الدول الصناعية السبع الكبرى في ألمانيا (2015) معلقا على الاختراقات الضخمة لبيانات الملفات الشخصية لما يقرب من 4 ملايين من الموظفين الحكوميين الأمريكيين: "لقد عرفنا منذ وقت طويل أن هناك نقاط ضعف كبيرة وأن هذه الثغرات تتزايد بسرعة مع مرور الوقت سواء في الأنظمة الحكومية وكذلك في أنظمة القطاع الخاص".


ويمكن تعريف الهجمات الالكترونية بأنها هجمات ذات دوافع اجتماعية أو سياسية يتم تنفيذها في المقام الأول عبر شبكة الإنترنت. وتزايدت حدة الهجمات الالكترونية مع تزايد سهولة الوصول إلى الانترنت وتطور الأجهزة الالكترونية. وأبلغت وكالات الأمن الفيدرالية الأمريكية عن 5 آلاف هجمة الكترونية عام 2006 و12 ألف عام 2007 و17 ألف عام 2008 و 30 ألف عام 2009، وفي عام 2012 وصلت إلى 48562 هجمة. وأعلنت شركة سيسكو أن الهجمات الالكترونية ارتفعت بنسبة 12% بين عامي 2013 – 2014. وكتب هانا كوشلر في صحيفة "فايناشيال تايمز" أن صناعات الأدوية والكيماويات والزارعة والتعدين شهدت هجمات الفيروسات الالكترونية حيث وصلت إلى 600%، بينما ارتفعت محاولات الاختراق الأمني في مجالات الطاقة وصناعات النفط والغاز إلى أكثر من 400%. وكتب ليفي غوندرت أن زيادة الهجمات الالكترونية تتوافق مع الزيادة في الأحداث الجيوسياسية أو غيرها من الأخبار. حيث ارتفعت على سبيل المثال محاولات الهجمات الاليكترونية الاجرامية على تجار التجزئة وتجار الجملة إلى أكثر من 100% بعد أن أعلنت متاجر "تارجت" الأمريكية أنها فقدت بيانات ما يصل إلى أكثر من 70 مليون عميل.

وانتشرت هذه الظاهرة على نطاق واسع في جميع أنحاء العالم.

لدى شركة "كاسبيرسكي" لأمن الأنظمة الاليكترونية خارطة لمراقبة التهديدات الاليكترونية على الانترنت: http://cybermap.kaspersky.com/

بحسب بيانات "كاسبيرسكي"، فإن أغلب الهجمات الالكترونية تحدث في روسيا ثم تليها الولايات المتحدة وألمانيا والهند وفيتنام. وتأتي الإمارات في المرتبة رقم 24 من البلدان التي تعاني أكبر عدد من الهجمات الالكترونية، وهذا العدد آخذ في الازدياد.

يتزايد عدد الهجمات الالكترونية كما أنها في تطور مستمر وأصبحت أكثر تعقيدا من الصعب اكتشافها، حيث قد تستغرق المنظمة في المتوسط ستة أشهر للكشف عن الاختراق الالكتروني. فقد كشفت مختبرات "كاسبيرسكي" عام 2014 عن أكبر التهديدات الاليكترونية على الإنترنت وأكثرها تطورا من أي وقت مضى تسمى "ماسك" أو "القناع". كان من الواضح أن "ماسك" كانت موجودة منذ عام 2007 واستولت على البرتوكولات الاليكترونية للعناوين في عشرات من البلدان.  ويقول الخبراء أن "ماسك" على الأرجح نشأت في بلد ناطق باللغة الإسبانية ويبدو أنها تستهدف شركات النفط والغاز بما في ذلك تلك التي يفترض في أنها موجودة في الإمارات. إن الكشف عن "ماسك" وغيرها من التهديدات الالكترونية أدى بالرئيس أوباما في مطلع عام 2014 إلى جعل الأمن الالكتروني من بين الأولويات، وقال:" إن التهديدات الالكترونية تشكل واحدة من أخطر المشاكل على الأمن القومي". 

ووفقا لمعهد "ستراتفور" للاستخبارات العالمية: "إن الفضاء الافتراضي ليس فقط مجال يمكن سرقة المعلومات منه فهو أيضا المكان الذي تتم فيه عمليات تخريب لأغراض استراتيجية". وعلاوة على ذلك فإن تحديد هوية الجاني والدافع وراء جريمته هو أقرب إلى المستحيل. وبما أن التجسس الالكتروني يوفر الغطاء لعدم الكشف عن الهوية ويوفر نوع من الأمان النسبي عن التكتيكات التقليدية، فإن مرتكبي مثل هذه الجرائم يجدون أنها مجزية وبالتالي يقومون بالمزيد من الهجمات. ووجود عدد كبير من الأهداف على نطاق واسع في الفضاء الالكتروني يقلل من مقدرة المدافعين على تركيز الموارد لحماية الأهداف الأصول الهامة والمعرضة للخطر. 

في الواقع ليس هناك الكثير الذي يمكن القيام به للحد من الهجمات الإلكترونية على الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة تتوعد بفرض عقوبات اقتصادية أو إعلان أن الهجمات الالكترونية تشكل عملا من أعمال الحرب. والعمل المثمر في هذا المجال هو توجيه الولايات المتحدة مؤخرا لضباط جيش التحرير الشعبي في الصين تهمة التجسس الصناعي برعاية الدولة. وتضم لائحة الاتهام الجنائية أن الأفراد المتهمين قد يتعرضوا لخطر التسليم إلى الولايات المتحدة إذا سافروا إلى الدول التي لديها معاهدة تسليم المتهمين معها. كما توفر لوائح الاتهام استراتيجية أعم بشأن محاولة وضع بعض الحدود وقواعد السلوك في الفضاء الإلكتروني مشابهة للقواعد المكتوبة وغير المكتوبة التي تحكم الحرب التقليدية والتجسس وذلك بهدف تقليل فرص أخطاء التقديرات الاستراتيجية.

وهناك نهج مثمر آخر للدفاع ضد الهجمات الالكترونية عبر مجموعة واسعة من الأهداف من خلال تبادل المعلومات. "انفرا جارد" منظمة غير ربحية تخدم بشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص بين الشركات الأمريكية ومكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي للتعاون في حماية البنية التحتية الوطنية. تشجع المنظمة تبادل المعلومات والتحليلات بين الشركات والمؤسسات الأكاديمية ووكالات إنفاذ القانون المحلية في الولايات وغيرها. ووقعت "انفرا جارد" اتفاقيات عدم الكشف الثنائية بين أعضائها ومكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي لتعزيز المناقشات الخاصة بشأن نقاط الضعف والحلول التي قد تتردد الشركات والأفراد مناقشتها في المجال العام. تنظم الفروع المحلية أيضا اجتماعات منتظمة لمناقشة أحدث التهديدات أو الاستماع إلى محادثات من الخبراء في الموضوع. وأعلنت المنظمة أنه اعتبارا من يوليو 2012 وصل عدد الأعضاء بما في ذلك مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي إلى أكثر من 54 ألفا، من بينهم خبراء في مجال الحماية من الهجمات الإلكترونية ومن بين هذه القطاعات: قطاع المنتجات الكيميائية والتسهيلات التجارية والاتصالات والصناعات الهامة والسدود والصناعات الدفاعية وخدمات الطوارئ وقطاعات الطاقة والخدمات المالية والأغذية والزراعة والمرافق الحكومية والرعاية الصحية والصحة العامة وتكنولوجيا المعلومات والمفاعلات النووية والمواد والنفايات وأنظمة النقل والمياه ونظم معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.

على الرغم من الانتقادات وحملات التخويف والقرصنة من قبل المدافعين عن الحريات المضللين واقتناعهم بأن "انفرا جارد" هي عبارة عن شبكة تجسس كبيرة للحكومة الأمريكية غير إن الحقيقة هي أبسط من ذلك.  إن مواجهة التحدي الهائل الذي تشكله الهجمات الالكترونية للملايين من الفنيين الذين يعمل كل منهم على حدا من أجل حماية خوادم شبكة البيانات وتبادل المعلومات، فقد يكون مشاركة المعلومات هو خط الدفاع الأوحد الذي يمكن أن تنتهجه الدولة لضمان أمنها الالكتروني.

كاي ايه وايز

كاي ايه وايز

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • Team Building and Management
  • Process Design with Workflow
  • Relational Database Design and Analysis
  • Writing and Consulting

التعليم

  • Bachelor and Master of Arts, Summa Cum Laude
    History, English, Education, and Computer Science
    From universities in Nebraska, USA

السيرة الشخصية

Started career in 1964 doing program management at the American National Red Cross. In the 70’s I did semantic network research at Creighton University. During the 80’s, designed and developed management information systems on Tandem RDBMS at Applied Communications Inc. Started the Wise Choice Consulting Co. in 1988. Directed Oracle ERP and CMM SEPG for First Data Corp, before moving to Dubai, UAE, where I designed and managed SharePoint with Data polis Process SystemK for b`huth.

In 2013 returned to Omaha to live and work, continuing to write and consult on business systems and process improvement. Living ART fully.