Thursday, 26th May, 2022

Developing Education: Fundamental Ideas

When it comes to education’s development, which is better? To teach young students how to use computers with high skill and, obviously, absorb the materials taught on smart screens only, or teach them programming? To inform them about the role of trees, and green cover in general, in reducing the harmful effects of air pollution and maintain a healthy environment or teach them planting in order to allow them to experience scientifically and practically more than one value: the value of work and the value of planting and its effects.


I was not driven by a passion for agriculture to present this example. Such discussions are actually taking place among education experts, parents, education officials and even senior government officials. However, education will always be governed by its objectives, which assimilate its practical values, no matter how much arguments, around it, diverge.

The debate on development of education has engaged Emiratis for the past few years, starting from the state’s leaders, education officials and executives to elite intellectuals, commentators and opinion makers. The government development plans have set a major goal of transforming to a knowledge-based economy in two decades and education is the key tool for this transformation. The development of education has been accompanied by two main objectives: the curricula are to meet the market’s demand. In addition, another related or complementary goal is to encourage the majority of students towards the scientific disciplines needed to build a knowledge-based economy.

Many ideas and perspective about the development of education, which are certainly endless, have been proposed. Among all of which, some steps seem to be essential and crucial to any educational development regardless the governance of the process. Here are some of the most important elements that I believe they are indispensable in the long-term development of education:

  1. Developing Teachers: It seems as if we ask which to come first: developing education or developing teachers? Well, it is quite clear that if we develop curricula in a qualitative and advanced manner, qualified teachers will be needed to deliver them in the best possible way to students in schools. Imagine that we have a space shuttle and its captain has a car-driving license! We cannot develop education without developing teachers, and the question of which comes first is senseless in my opinion, because developing teachers is of a very high priority. Having highly qualified teachers, we can guarantee the educational development plans will be executed by professionals.

    Unfortunately, developing of teachers’ performance is mostly linked, even for teachers themselves, with increments in salaries. Well, this is certainly required. I even think that teachers' salaries must be relatively high, compared to other jobs. However, this should be associated with high performance, maximum effort and skills of teachers, in addition to obvious qualitative outcomes. In countries like Finland, with the world’s best educational system, only those who have master's degree or higher, educational qualification and professional merit, can be accepted in teaching career. If we consider this as the class of teachers we seek, then it requires personal efforts of teacher’s prior state’s motivation.
     
  2. Focusing on the Skills: this is the most repeated element as long as it is about education’s development. However, the question is: how? Current teaching methods varies from spoon feeding to activities that are intended to provide knowledge in a slightly different format which depends on motivating students’ thinking. Despite the disparate experiences in the same country between public schools and some private schools, the predominant characteristics of teaching methods are "spoon feeding" and "memorization and recitation", which created a psychological phenomenon at every home: "examination phobia". Besides, the phenomenon of private tuitions as parallel education has also occurred.

    Focusing on skills requires focusing on building an analyzing mindset, which is a mindset that has the skills of asking necessary questions, searching, verifying information, linking facts and inferring. This, consequently, requires a radical change in the education’s approach, which can be achieved by emulating experiences of other countries such as Japan and Finland with educational systems that has no exams in the first and second grades as they focus on teaching young people the skills.

    Such a goal requires a change in teaching methods in day-to-day basis. These methods must rely primarily on "dialogue and interaction" between teachers and pupils rather than "spoon feeding, memorization and recitation". Besides, students should be involved in the experience of learning and gaining knowledge. Developing analyzing skills needs more than just memorizing subjects. It is certain that the generalization of a skills-based teaching and learning system will terminate the "memorization and recitation" approach and will stop the two most counteracting phenomena to the development of education: "private tuitions" and "examophobia".
     
  3. Researches are the Substantial Learning Tool: Aspiring to a skills-based system that leads to qualified graduates to build a knowledge-based economy requires that research becomes a learning, not a spoon-feeding, tool. That is, students must acquire information through research, not feeding or simply reading a textbook. Hence, students must be trained at early ages on the techniques of scientific research, its tools and methodologies. The best way to consolidate the information in students’ minds is to let them find it by themselves, which means that we have to teach them the tools that will lead them to information.

    Research has been a core element of the education curricula in the Gulf countries since 1980s at least but sorrowfully, as private tutoring, it has become a bookshops’ business that students and their parents buy just to accumulate marks. The biggest problem is that teachers and schools accept such researches despite of their awareness that students did not do them and they were carried out carelessly by a bookshop or even by a parent.
     
  4. Teaching the Technology has become a Necessity: It is not sufficient anymore to teach students the basics of operating computers or learning through them, it is substantial now to teach them how to program. This might appear a small step but it is essential to graduate students with high skills who can be depended upon to build a knowledge-based economy.
     
  5. Humanities must not be Neglected: As some careers like medicine, engineering, banking and others are of high demand and because of the fanciful thoughts of eighties, many people thinks that study of humanities is a waste of time and has no future. However, the need for humanities will remain necessary to maintain societies capable of understanding their problems and realities and to humanize development and its trends in general.
     
  6. Comprehensive Competitions between Schools and Universities: Students of schools and universities of the country must compete comprehensively in all fields and disciplines such as science and innovation of all kinds, humanities, languages (with more emphasis on Arabic language), drama and sports’ competitions in the form of periodic leagues in all games among universities and schools. Schools and universities look like isolated islands with no connections. Creating frameworks for competitions between schools and universities is not only about discovering talents, it is also the most effective way to give students qualities that they will need in future like the ability to compete. From another perspective, when those competitions turn into a nationwide event, schools and universities will be an essential part of public. Imagine how competitions of this kind could contribute to the dissemination of knowledge at the national level to hundreds of thousands of students. We can imagine how competitions of this kind could contribute to the dissemination of knowledge at the national level among hundreds of thousands of students.
     
  7. Do not Leave Anyone Behind: Most countries have deployed educational systems that are based on isolating gifted and talented students in schools dedicated for those who show higher level of intelligence in their lessons. Later, some educators have criticized this system for practicing sort of discrimination on students, as isolating gifted and clever students may result in providing this category with extra attention and deal with others normally or consider them useless. This has contributed to the abandonment of gifted students’ schools in more than one country. However, the high demand for high skills in today's markets. Besides the ambitions to build more and more knowledge-based economies rather than commodity production. In addition to the education’s development plans, all these factors have reinforced the belief in the necessity of focusing on the talented and intelligent students in schools. This has been translated into more than one format, whether through special activities clubs such as scientific clubs, contests or other frames.

    Another aspect of the topic is the "dropouts". In all stages of education, there are dropouts for one reason or another. Legislation has made education mandatory mostly until the middle school stage, dropouts or those who have stopped at high school still need to develop their abilities, knowledge and skills. Hence, there is a need for education and training programs in all areas beyond the existing vocational training programs in most countries. The principle here is to make education continuous and open.
Mohamed Ahmed Yusf Al Obaidly

Mohamed Ahmed Yusf Al Obaidly

Consultant

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Regional Affairs
  • Public policy
  • Geostrategic Affairs

Education

  • Studied Economy & Political Sciences -Cairo University

Bio

With his veteran career in journalism, Al-Obaidly has an extensive, firsthand experience in regional and international affairs. He covered the first and second Gulf War, while also covering Palestinian and Sudanese affairs. In the last decade he started to focus on Political Islam movements.

Al-Obaidly is a regular commentator and columnist, frequently published in local Bahraini media and several others regionallly. He also worked as an editor in the Monthly Le Mobdediplomatique (Arabic Edition) from 2008 – 2010.

These backgrounds and expertise formed a solid base to move to the research and studies field.

الثلاثاء, 6 ديسمبر, 2022

تطوير التعليم: أفكار أساسية

أيهما أفضل عندما يتعلق الأمر بتطوير التعليم: أن نكتفي بتعليم التلاميذ الصغار كيفية استخدام الحواسيب بمهارة عالية وبالطبع كيفية استيعاب المواد التي يدرسونها عبر الشاشات الذكية أم ان نعلمهم البرمجة؟ ان نعلمهم عن دور الأشجار والغطاء الأخضر عموماً في التخفيف من مضار التلوث والحفاظ على بيئة صحية ام نعلمهم زراعة الاشجار والنباتات كي يلمسوا بالممارسة "العلمية/العملية" أكثر من قيمة: قيمة عملهم نفسه وقيمة الزراعة وآثارها.


لم اقدم هذا المثال لشغفي الشديد بالزراعة، لكن مثل هذه النقاشات تدور في أوساط خبراء التعليم وأولياء الأمور والمسؤولين عن التربية بل وكبار مسؤولي الحكومة ايضاً، فالتعليم مهما تشعب النقاش حوله سيبقى أمراً محكوماً بالأهداف التي نتوخاها منه، اي بالقيمة العملية منه.

لقد شغل النقاش حول تطوير التعليم اهتمام الإماراتيين على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية، بدءاً من قادة الدولة والمسؤولين عن التربية والتعليم والتنفيذيين الى نخبة المثقفين والمعلقين وصناع الرأي العام، ولقد حددت خطط التنمية الحكومية هدفاً رئيسياً لها هو التحول الى اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة خلال عقدين، أما الأداة الأساسية لهذا التحول فهي التعليم. ولقد تلازم الحديث عن تطوير التعليم مع هدفين أساسيين: ان تلبي المناهج متطلبات سوق العمل أولا وفي هدف آخر مرتبط أو مكمل لهذا الهدف هو تشجيع أن يتجه غالبية الطلاب نحو التخصصات العلمية اللازمة لبناء اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة.

العديد من الافكار والتصورات طرحت حول تطوير التعليم ومن المؤكد ان الافكار هنا لن تتوقف، ومن بين جميع الافكار والتصورات التي يتم تداولها منذ سنوات حول تطوير التعليم، ثمة خطوات تبدو جوهرية وحاسمة لأي تطوير في التعليم بغض النظر عن المقاربة التي تحكم هذه العملية. وفيما يلي بعض أهم هذه العناصر التي اعتقد انه لا غنى عنها في المسار الطويل لتطوير التعليم:

  1. تطوير المعلمين: يبدو الأمر وكأننا نسأل أيهما يأتي اولاً، تطوير التعليم أم تطوير المعلمين؟ حسناً، الأمر واضح جداً: اذا قمنا بتطوير المناهج بشكل نوعي ومتقدم فإن هذه المناهج تحتاج لمعلمين مؤهلين أيضا لتقديمها في أفضل صورة للتلاميذ في المدارس. تخيلوا لو ان لدينا مركبة فضاء لكن الذي يتعين ان يقودها يملك رخصة سياقة سيارة. لا يمكن تطوير التعليم دون تطوير المعلمين والسؤال عن أيهما يأتي أولاً ليس ذي معنى من وجهة نظري لأن تطوير المعلمين يملك أولوية قصوى. فمع هؤلاء المعلمين المؤهلين تأهيلاً عالياً جداً يمكننا الاطمئنان الى ان خطط تطوير التعليم ستوضع في أيدي مؤهلة لتنفيذها بجدارة.

    المؤسف ان تطوير اداء المعلمين يرتبط في أذهان الكثيرين بما فيهم المعلمين أنفسهم بزيادة الرواتب فقط. حسناً، إن هذا أمر مطلوب بالتأكيد بل إنني أرى انه يتعين ان تكون رواتب المعلمين أعلى من كل الوظائف الأخرى لكن هذا سيبقى مرتبطاً بأداء عالٍ وبأقصى حدود الجهد والمهارة من المعلمين وبنتائج نوعية واضحة للعيان. في دول مثل فنلندا التي يعد نظامها التعليمي الأفضل في العالم، لا يقبل في سلك التدريس الا من حصل على شهادة الماجستير فما فوق اضافة الى تأهيل تربوي وجدارة مهنية. إذا اعتبرنا ان هذا هو نوع المعلمين الذين نريد، فإن هذا يقتضي جهداً ذاتياً من المعلمين قبل ان يكون تحفيزاً وظيفياً من الدولة.
     
  2. التركيز على المهارات: هذا أكثر ما يتكرر على كل لسان طالما تعلق الأمر بتطوير التعليم، لكن السؤال هو: كيف؟ تتراوح أساليب التعليم السائدة حاليا ما بين التلقين والنشاطات التي يقصد منها تقديم المعلومات بشكل مختلف قليلاً يعتمد على تحفيز الطلاب على التفكير. ورغم تفاوت التجارب في البلد الواحد ما بين المدارس الحكومية وبعض المدارس الخاصة، إلا أن السمة الغالبة على أساليب التدريس تقوم على "التلقين" و"الحفظ والاسترجاع" التي خلفت ظاهرة نفسية ترزح في كل بيت "رهاب الامتحانات" اضافة الى ظاهرة تعليم موازٍ هي ظاهرة الدروس الخصوصية.

    التركيز على المهارات يقتضي التركيز على بناء ذهنية تحليلية، أي ذهنية تتمتع بمهارات طرح الاسئلة الضرورية، البحث، التحقق من المعلومات، ربط الحقائق والقدرة على الاستنتاج. يقتضي هذا بطبيعة الحال تغييراً جذرياً في مقاربة التعليم نفسها تحاكي تجارب دول مثل اليابان وفنلندا التي يخلو نظام التعليم في الحلقة الاولى والثانية من الامتحانات حيث يتم التركيز على تعليم الصغار المهارات.

    وفي تفاصيل العمل اليومي، يقتضي هدف كهذا تغيير أساليب التدريس بحيث تعتمد بالأساس على "الحوار والتفاعل" بين المعلمين والتلاميذ أكثر من "التلقين والحفظ والاسترجاع" إضافة الى إشراك الطلاب في تجربة اكتساب المعرفة والتعلم. ان تنمية مهارات التحليل تتطلب ما هو أكثر من حفظ ما في الكتاب حول أي موضوع. من المؤكد ان تعميم نظام تعليم وأساليب تعليم تركز على المهارات سينهي أسلوب "الحفظ والاسترجاع" وسينهي أكثر ظاهرتين معيقتين لتطوير التعليم هما "الدروس الخصوصية" و"رهاب الامتحانات".
     
  3. الأبحاث وسيلة التعلم الأساسية: الطموح الى نظام يعتمد على المهارات وصولا الى خرجين مؤهلين لبناء اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة يقتضي أن يصبح البحث هو أداة التعلم وليس التلقين. أي ان يكتسب الطلاب المعلومات عن طريق البحث لا التلقين ولا بمجرد قراءة الكتاب المدرسي. يقتضي هذا تدريب الطلاب منذ الصغر على تقنيات البحث العلمي بكل أدواتها ومناهجها. إذا ارنا ترسيخ المعلومة في ذهن التلاميذ فليس أفضل من يعثروا عليها هم بأنفسهم، أي ان علينا تعليمهم الوسيلة التي ستقودهم الى المعلومة.

    المؤسف ان الأبحاث جزء اساسي من مناهج التعليم في دول الخليج منذ ثمانينات القرن الماضي على الأقل، لكن من على غرار الدروس الخصوصية، غدت الأبحاث تجارة لمكتبات القرطاسية التي يلجأ لها الطلاب وأولياء أمورهم للحصول فقط على علامات لا أكثر ولا أقل. أما المشكلة الأكبر فهي ان المعلمين والمدارس تقبل كل ما يصل لها من ابحاث تعرف جيداً ان الطلاب لم يقوموا بها بل قام بها وبشكل بليد في الغالب أحد متاجر القرطاسية او شخص آخر قد يكون ولي الأمر نفسه.
     
  4. تدريس التكنلوجيا أصبح أمر حتمياً: قد لا يكفي تعليم التلاميذ اساسيات التعامل مع الحاسوب ولا التعلم عبر الحواسيب، بل اصبح تعليم البرمجة أمراً ضرورياً. يبدو هذا خطوة صغيرة لكنها ضرورية لتخريج طلاب يملكون مهارات عالية ويعول عليهم لبناء اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة. 
     
  5. عدم إهمال العلوم الانسانية:  يتصور الكثيرون وبسبب الطلب العالي على مهن مثل الطب والهندسة والصيرفة وغيرها اضافة الى بضعة أوهام راجت منذ ثمانينات القرن الماضي، ان دراسة العلوم الانسانية أقرب لأن تكون مضيعة للوقت وخسارة للمستقبل. ستبقى الحاجة للعلوم الإنسانية قائمة وضرورية كي تبقى لدى مجتمعاتنا القدرة على فهم مشكلاتها وواقعها وأنسنة التنمية وتوجهاتها بشكل عام. 
     
  6. المنافسات الشاملة بين المدارس والجامعات: يجب ان يدخل طلاب المدارس وطلاب الجامعات في الدولة في منافسات شاملة في كل الميادين وكل التخصصات: مسابقات في العلوم والابتكارات بكل انواعها، مسابقات في العلوم الانسانية، مسابقات في اللغات مع تركيز أكثر على اللغة العربية، مسابقة في المسرح ومسابقات رياضية على شكل دوري للمدارس في جميع الألعاب ودوري للجامعات في جميع الألعاب. تبدو المدارس والجامعات وكأنها جزر معزولة لا يربطها أي شيء. ايجاد أطر للتنافس بين المدارس لا يرمي لاكتشاف الموهوبين فحسب، بل انه الوسيلة الأكثر فعالية لإكساب الطلاب ميزات ستطلب منهم في المستقبل: القدرة على التنافس. في مقاربة أخرى، يتعين ان تكون المدارس والجامعات جزءاً أساسيا من الفضاء العام عندما تتحول منافسات المدارس ودوري المدارس الى حدث على المستوى الوطني الشامل. يكن تخيل كيف يمكن ان تسهم منافسات من هذا النوع في تعميم المعرفة على المستوى الوطني لدى مئات الالاف من الطلاب والطالبات.
     
  7. لا تترك أحداً خلفك: لطالما جرت غالب الدول أنظمة تعليم تقوم على فرز الموهوبين واللامعين من الطلاب في مدارس خاصة بالذين يبدون ذكاء عالياً عن السائد في تحصيل دروسهم. وفي وقت لاحق عاب بعض التربويين على نظام مثل هذا تكريسه لنوع من التمييز بين الطلاب بحيث ان فرز الطلاب بهذا الشكل قد يؤدي الى الاهتمام بالموهوبين والاذكياء والتعامل كالمعتاد مع الباقين او باعتبارهم حالات لا ترتجى منهم فائدة. لقد اسهم هذا في التخلي عن مدارس الموهوبين في اكثر من بلد، لكن الطلب العالي على المهارات العالية في اسواق العمل في وقتنا الحاضر وطموحات بناء اقتصاديات قائمة اكثر واكثر على المعرفة لا على انتاج السلع، وخطط تطوير التعليم نفسها، عززت القناعة بضرورة التركيز على الموهوبين والأذكياء في المدارس. لقد ترجم هذا نفسه في اكثر من صيغة سواء عبر اندية النشاطات الخاصة مثل الأندية العلمية والمسابقات وغيرها او عبر صيغ أخرى.

    هناك وجه آخر للموضوع هنا هو "المتسربين من التعليم". في جميع مراحل التعليم، هناك متسربين لسبب أو لآخر. واذا كانت التشريعات قد جعلت التعليم الزاميا حتى المرحلة المتوسطة في الغالب، فان المتسربين او الذين توقفوا عند مرحلة الثانوية العامة يبقون بحاجة لتطوير قدراتهم ومعارفهم ومهاراتهم. هنا، تبدو الحاجة قائمة الى برامج تعليم وتدريب في كل المجالات تتجاوز برامج التدريب المهني القائمة في معظم البلدان، المبدأ هنا هو جعل التعليم مستمرا ومفتوحاً.
محمد أحمد يوسف العبيدلي

محمد أحمد يوسف العبيدلي

مستشار

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • الشؤون الاقليمية
  • السياسات العامة
  • الشؤون الجيوستراتيجية

التعليم

  • كلية الاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية (جامعة القاهرة)

السيرة الشخصية

خلال سنواته المهنية الطويلة في الصحافة التي بلغت 30 عاما، شغل العبيدلي العديد من المسؤوليات خصوصا في الشؤون العربية والدولية حيث قام بتغطية العديد من الاحداث الساخنة في منطقة الخليج العربي خصوصا الحرب العراقية – الايرانية وحرب تحرير الكويت. كما تخصص في تغطية التطورات والشؤون الاقليمية في منطقة الشرق الاوسط خصوصا الشأن الفلسطيني اضافة الى الشأن السوداني كما تخصص في السنوات الاخيرة في شؤون حركات الاسلام السياسي.

كتب للصحافة المحلية والخليجية كما عمل لمدة عشر سنوات مراسلا لوكالة الصحافة الفرنسية وعمل محررا في شهرية لوموند ديبلوماتيك (النشرة العربية). اسهمت هذه الخلفيات في ترسيخ قاعدة متينة للانتقال الى ميدان الابحاث والدراسات.