Sunday, 26th September, 2021

Potential for UAE-Israel-South Korea Relation for East-West Connectivity

The Dubai Public Policy Research Center (B’huth) and The Asan Institute for Policy Studies held a virtual expert meeting about “Potential for UAE-Israel-South Korea Relation for East-West Connectivity” on Tuesday, 31st of August 2021.


The Dubai Public Policy Research Center (B’huth) and The Asan Institute for Policy Studies held a virtual expert meeting about “Potential for UAE-Israel-South Korea Relation for East-West Connectivity” on Tuesday, 31st of August 2021.  The meeting is dedicated to discussing the potential relation for the three countries in term of connecting the East with the West. With the participation of experts from the three countries.

The Participants and Speakers:

  • H.E. Mohammed Baharoon, Dubai Public Policy Research Center (UAE)
  • AMB. Shaikha Najla alQassimi, Dubai Public Policy Research Center (UAE)
  • Dr. Ibrahim Karsany, Dubai Public Policy Research Center (UAE)
  • Dr N. Janardhan, Anwar Gargash Diplomatic Academy (UAE)
  • Mr. Koby Huberman, The Israeli Regional Initiative (Israel)
  • Dr. LEE Kwon Hyung, Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (South Korea)
  • Prof. PARK Hyondo, Sogang Euro-MENA Institute (South Korea) 
  • Dr. JANG Ji-Hyang, Asan Institute for Policy Studies (South Korea)
  • Dr. SUNG Il Kwang, Sogang Euro-MENA Institute (South Korea)

 

Mohammed Abdul Rahman Baharoon

Mohammed Abdul Rahman Baharoon

Vice Executive Director.

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Geo-strategy
  • Reputation and soft power
  • Public Policy and International Relations

Education

  • Master’s degree in English Literature from Texas Tech University in 1995
  • English Major from Kuwait University in 1987

Bio

Mohammed Baharoon is the Director Genearl of b’huth, which he established with Ahmed Al Mansoori in 2002 in Dubai, UAE.

Mohammed Baharoon attained his master’s degree in English Literature from Texas Tech University in 1995 and his English Major from Kuwait University in 1987. Baharoon found reading literature helped him create the big picture since he always needed to listen to things that were not said. This led to a career in media where he worked as a reporter for Al Arabi Magazine, which was a premier cultural monthly in the Arab World.

Mohammed continued his media career as a writer for Al Ittihad newspaper and then as an Editor for Gulf Defence Magazine. A turning point for him was when he started to see that the worlds of literature and politics were not very different.

It was a launching point for the establishment of b’huth. Since then, Baharoon has been reading world politics as the ultimate literary genre where fact and fiction are two faces of the same coin.

Dr.Ibrahim Karsany

Dr.Ibrahim Karsany

Economic consultant

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Public Policy
  • Development issues
  • Economic Planning
  • Competitiveness

Education

Ph.D. in Economics.

bio

Dr. Ibrahim Karsany graduated from Khartoum University with a Bs.C. (Hon) in economics, followed by a Ph.D. in development economics from Leeds University, England. He has accumulated a rich research experience in different fields of study ranging from development studies, economic planning, and problems of under-development to total quality management and competitiveness of nations.

Dr. Karsany’s work experience extends over four decades and ranges from university teaching, at both undergraduate and graduate levels, to working in international organizations such as the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and in Governments, e.g, as Advisor to the Ministry of Economy, Oman, Muscat and as Economic Development Advisor, Department of Economic Development, Dubai, as well as in the Private Sector (DPPRC, Bhuth).

He has been a Visiting Professor and Scholar at reputable academic institutions; notable amongst them are Bergen University, Norway, The Scandinavian Institute for African Studies, Uppsala, Sweden, and The Hungarian Academy of Science, Budapest. He also published a number of studies in learned specialized international journals and served on the Editorial Boards of Academic Journals in Sudan and abroad; e.g, The Review of African Political Economy (ROAPE), published in England. He has also presented papers as well as participated in a considerable number of international conferences, seminars and workshops and has published more than sixty pieces in daily printed as well as electronic papers covering a wide range of socio-economic as well as political topics and issues.

Contact email

ikursany@bhuth.ae

Shaikha Najla Mohamed Salem AlQasimi

Shaikha Najla Mohamed Salem AlQasimi

Director Global affairs Department

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • International Relations.

Education

  • Bachelor Degree in Political Science from the United Arab Emirates University

Bio

In 1994 Sheikha Najla Mohamed Al Qasemi attained her bachelor’s degree in political science from the United Arab Emirates University. And in 2015 received her Master degree in E-Government from Stockholm University. In 1999 she worked as a researcher at the Emirates Center for Strategic Studies.

The year 2002 she commenced work with the United Arab Emirates Ministry for Foreign Affairs. In 2008 appointed as Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Sweden. And non-residents in the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Denmark. And appointed as Ambassador to the Republic of Portugal in 2014.

Returning to the United Arab Emirates and began working in Zayed University from August 2016 to June 2018. Starting from July 2018 she joined Dubai Public Policy Center (b’huth) as Senior Researcher and responsible for the “GCC in multipolar world” Program.

الخميس, 27 يناير, 2022

إمكانات العلاقة بين الإمارات وإسرائيل وكوريا الجنوبية للربط بين الشرق والغرب

عقد مركز دبي لبحوث السياسات العامة (بحوث) ومؤسسة آسيان لدراسة السياسات العامة (كوريا) ورشة عمل تناولت "مجالات التعاون بين الإمارات وكوريا وإسرائيل واحتمال تطوير العاقات بين الشرق والغرب" يوم الثلاثاء 31 أغسطس 2021.


عقد مركز دبي لأبحاث السياسة العامة (بهوث) ومعهد آسان للدراسات السياسية اجتماع خبراء افتراضيًا حول "إمكانات العلاقة بين الإمارات وإسرائيل وكوريا الجنوبية للتواصل بين الشرق والغرب" يوم الثلاثاء ، 31 أغسطس 2021. الاجتماع يكرس نفسه لمناقشة العلاقة المحتملة بين الدول الثلاث من حيث ربط الشرق بالغرب. بمشاركة خبراء من الدول الثلاث.

المشاركين والمتحدثين في الاجتماع:

  • المدير العام لمركز بحوث الاستاذ محمد باهارون ، مركز دبي لأبحاث السياسة العامة (الإمارات العربية المتحدة)
  • السفيرة الشيخة نجلاء القاسمي ، مركز دبي لأبحاث السياسة العامة (الإمارات العربية المتحدة)
  • د.إبراهيم كرساني ، مركز دبي لأبحاث السياسة العامة (الإمارات العربية المتحدة)
  • د. جاناردان ، أكاديمية أنور قرقاش الدبلوماسية (الإمارات العربية المتحدة)
  • السيد كوبي هوبرمان ، المبادرة الإقليمية الإسرائيلية (إسرائيل)
  • د.لي كوون هيونج ، المعهد الكوري للسياسة الاقتصادية الدولية (كوريا الجنوبية)
  • البروفيسور بارك هيوندو ، معهد سوغانغ يورو مينا (كوريا الجنوبية)
  • د. جانغ جي هيانغ ، معهد أسان للدراسات السياسية (كوريا الجنوبية)
  • د.سونغ إيل كوانغ ، معهد سوغانغ يورو مينا (كوريا الجنوبية)
محمدعبد الرحمن باهرون

محمدعبد الرحمن باهرون

نائب المدير التنفيذي

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • جيو-استراتيجية
  • السمعة والقوة الناعمة
  • السياسة العامة والعلاقات الدولية

التعليم

  • حاصل على درجة الماجستير في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة تكساس التقنية عام 1995
  • تخصص اللغة الإنجليزية من جامعة الكويت عام 1987

السيرة الشخصية

محمد باهرون هو المدير العام لمركز بحوث، الذي أسسه مع أحمد المنصوري في عام 2002 في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

حصل محمد باهرون على درجة الماجستير في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة تكساس للتكنولوجيا عام 1995 وماجستير اللغة الإنجليزية من جامعة الكويت عام 1987. ووجد أن أدب القراءة ساعده في تكوين الصورة الكبيرة لأنه كان يحتاج دائمًا إلى الاستماع إلى أشياء لم يتم قولها. أدى ذلك إلى مهنة في مجال الإعلام حيث عمل كمراسل لمجلة العربي، والتي كانت شهرية ثقافية ممتازة في العالم العربي.

واصل محمد مسيرته المهنية في مجال الإعلام ككاتب لجريدة الاجتهاد، ثم عمل كمحرّر لمجلة تحدي الخليج. كانت نقطة تحول بالنسبة له عندما بدأ يرى أن عوالم الأدب والسياسة لم تكن مختلفة تمامًا.

لقد كانت نقطة انطلاق لإنشاء مركز بحوث. منذ ذلك الحين يقرأ باهرون السياسة العالمية باعتبارها النوع الأدبي النهائي حيث الحقيقة والخيال وجهان لعملة واحدة.

د.إبراهيم كرسني

د.إبراهيم كرسني

مستشار إقتصادي

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • السياسة العامة
  • قضايا التنمية
  • التخطيط الاقتصادي
  • القدرة التنافسية

تعليم

دكتوراه في الاقتصاد

السيرة الذاتية

تخرج الدكتور إبراهيم كرسني من جامعة الخرطوم حيث حصل على بكالوريوس في الاقتصاد مع مرتبة الشرف ومن ثم الدكتوراه في التنمية الاقتصادية من جامعة ليدز، بإنجلترا. وقد اكتسب خبرة بحثية واسعة في مختلف مجالات الدراسة بدءا من دراسات التنمية والتخطيط الاقتصادي ومشاكل التخلف الاقتصادي إلى إدارة الجودة الشاملة والقدرة التنافسية للدول.

تمتد خبرة الدكتور كرسني العملية على مدى أربعة عقود وتتراوح بين التدريس الجامعي، سواء على المستوى الجامعي أو على مستوى الدراسات العليا، والعمل في المنظمات الدولية مثل برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والحكومات، على سبيل المثال، عمل مستشارا لوزارة الاقتصاد في مسقط بسلطنة عمان ومستشار التنمية الاقتصادية في الدائرة الاقتصادية بدبي، وكذلك في القطاع الخاص مع مركز دبي لبحوث السياسات العامة.

وقد كان أستاذ زائر وباحث في المؤسسات الأكاديمية ذات السمعة الطيبة؛ ومن أبرزها جامعة بيرغن، بالنرويج، والمعهد الاسكندنافي للدراسات الأفريقية، في أوبسالا، بالسويد، وأكاديمية العلوم الهنغارية، بودابست، المجر. كما نشر عددا من الدراسات في المجلات العلمية المتخصصة، وعمل في مجالس تحرير المجلات الأكاديمية في السودان والخارج؛ على سبيل المثال، مجلة استعراض الاقتصاد السياسي الأفريقي، التي تنشر في انكلترا. وقدم أيضا أوراق بحث مختلفة وشارك في عدد كبير من المؤتمرات والحلقات الدراسية وحلقات العمل الدولية ونشر أكثر من ستين مقال في المطبوعات اليومية فضلا عن ورقات بحث إلكترونية تغطي طائفة واسعة من المواضيع والقضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية .

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

ikursany@bhuth.ae

الشيخة نجلاء محمد سالم  القاسمي

الشيخة نجلاء محمد سالم القاسمي

مدير إدارة الشؤون الدولية

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • العلاقات الدولية

التعليم

  • شهادة بكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

السيرة الشخصية

في عام 1994 حصلت الشيخة نجلاء محمد القاسمي على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وفي عام 2015 حصلت على درجة الماجستير في الحكومة الإلكترونية من جامعة ستوكهولم. في عام 1999 عملت كباحثة في مركز الإمارات للدراسات الاستراتيجية.

في عام 2002 بدأت العمل مع وزارة الخارجية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، في عام 2008 تم تعيينهما سفيراً فوق العادة ومفوضاً في السويد. في عام 2010 وسفير غير مقيم في كل من جمهورية فنلندا والمملكة الدنماركية على التوالي ثم نقلت للبرتغال عام 2014.

عادت إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة وبدأت العمل في جامعة زايد في الفترة من أغسطس 2016 إلى يونيو 2018. ابتداءً من يوليو 2018 التحقت بمركز دبي للسياسة العامة (بحوث) كباحثة أولى ومسؤولة عن برنامج “دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في عالم متعدد الأقطاب”.