Monday, 3rd October, 2022

The Weekly: OPEC, GCC & Economic Change

There was little surprise amongst energy analysts when it was announced last Thursday evening that the 24 governments of oil-producing states – 13 OPEC and 11 non-OPEC – had agreed unanimously to extend the production curbs agreed last November until the end of the first quarter of next year. The UAE’s Minister of Energy, HE Suhail al- Mazrouei, insisted that: “everyone is in agreement”.


There was little surprise amongst energy analysts when it was announced last Thursday evening that the 24 governments of oil-producing states – 13 OPEC and 11 non-OPEC – had agreed unanimously to extend the production curbs agreed last November until the end of the first quarter of next year.  The UAE’s Minister of Energy, HE Suhail al- Mazrouei, insisted that: “everyone is in agreement”.


The oil producers, including Russia, seem to be hoping that not only will a further nine months of self-imposed production constraint help to drain the glut in global oil reserves, but will also further buttress the price of oil and establish a platform for renewed energy price increases.


 ‘TIGHT OIL’


Over the past three years, analysts have speculated concerning the reasons behind persistently low energy prices and the consequent reductions in oil revenues, despite various initiatives to stem sliding prices.  Many of these assessments have concurred that GCC producers, led by Saudi Arabia, agreed to maintain production at then record levels in November 2014, expressly with a view to forcing the producers of shale oil out of the market.  At the time, while shale oil was judged to have become lucrative in North America precisely because of buoyant prices well above the $100 per barrel mark, it appeared that a rapid but temporary decline in oil returns would render shale production uncompetitive.  The expectation was that this would enable Gulf producers, not only to maintain and possibly expand market share but, at the same time, hobble the North American competition.


But this is not how it turned out.  The producers of so-called “tight oil” from North American shale have shown that they too can thrive in a world of $50 per barrel oil.  Over the past three years, American shale producers have been able to shrink costs and accelerate drilling at the same time as demonstrating that shale production can respond more quickly and nimbly to shifting market conditions than traditional producers in the Gulf and Russia – switching production on and off over relatively much shorter notice periods.
This has led analysts to consider how Gulf producers in particular, may have to live with oil prices in the $40 to $60 range for some time to come.  There was also speculation this week that a further nine months of production constraint may not have the outcome that analysts presume is desired.


GCC ECONOMIC GOALS


Much of the economic debate around low oil returns continues to be couched in terms of perceptions of economic pain for Gulf states that are presumed to remain heavily reliant on energy sales for the health of national exchequers.  In this context, it is commonplace for energy commentators to suggest that, without adequate income from oil, GCC member states in particular, risk not only a continuation of economic austerity but also political instability.  Some commentators also continue to argue that there is an unspoken compact between rulers and ruled that Gulf leaderships retain their power and right to rule, solely on the basis of delivering generous cradle-to-grave economic subsidies to their peoples.


In pursuit of this construct, some analysts have made much of the assessed fiscal breakeven prices for various oil-producing countries and the economic impact that sub-$50 per barrel prices continue to have on sovereign wealth funds and other fiscal reserves.  A typical graph produced by the IMF last year Illustrates well this assumption that, amongst GCC member-states, only Kuwait is able to balance its budget with oil prices below $60 per barrel.


However, while the assumption linking oil revenue to fiscal well-being may have been justified during the era when the Gulf states were routinely dismissed as little more than ‘rentier economies’, analysis of recent economic planning across the GCC suggests that lower returns on oil over the past three years may not be the cause for grave concern that some commentators proclaim.
While almost certainly a coincidence, the announcement by Moody’s, the international ratings agency, on the same day this week that OPEC was meeting, that it was changing its assessment of the economic outlook for Abu Dhabi from “negative” to “stable” included a comment that credited the way in which the emirate had cut government spending by 23 percent over the past two years as: “an effective and broad policy response to the lower oil environment.”  Moody’s went on observe that the UAE had moved to reduce subsidies and raise prices across the full range of utilities including: fuel, electricity and water.


In Saudi Arabia, under Prince Mohammed bin Salman’s ‘Saudi Vision 2030’, economic planners in the Kingdom have similarly started to cut subsidies; raising prices and focusing on the development of a future non-oil economy.


Against this backdrop of economic re-structuring, it is suggested that far from being the energy crisis that some commentators portray, a $40-$60 oil price is in fact helping Gulf governments to persuade their populations of the need to align economic policy more closely with international norms so that wealthy Gulf states can diversify with increasing effect into non-oil economic activity.


As early as 2013, research for Gulf News in the UAE showed that all four of the largest GCC economies were benefiting from larger non-oil contributions to their economies, than oil. This is a trend that is increasing across the region and it underlines the push within the GCC to ensure that national economies continue to diversify away from oil dependency and, at the same time, to embrace the emerging opportunities from renewable energy sources.


While it would be rash to predict where energy prices are headed over the coming five years, it does seem that more progressive leaders in the Arabian Gulf are seeing the shrinkage in oil returns as much an opportunity as a threat.  Lower revenues are helping leaderships to justify structural economic changes to their peoples, not just as an opportunity to realign more closely with global norms but also because they are helping leaders to encourage populations to embrace change and the development of 21st century knowledge economies where individuals will be rewarded, not because they are fortunate enough to have been born in a land with oil beneath their feet but because that state is now willing to encourage and reward entrepreneurism and those willing to accept the challenges of building new sources of national wealth.


It seems that most GCC states now recognize that excess oil revenues are as much as curse as an advantage.  If individual citizens are to accept reduced state dependency, emphasizing the lower revenues from oil may be providing just the spur that leaders have sought to make the case for change.

الجمعة, 24 مايو, 2024

أوبك ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي والتغيرات الاقتصادية

لم يستغرب محللي الطاقة عندما أعلن مساء الخميس الماضي أن 24 دولة من الدول المنتجة للنفط - 13 أوبك و 11 من غير الأوبك، وافقت بالإجماع على تمديد القيود المفروضة على الإنتاج المتفق عليها في نوفمبر الماضي حتى نهاية الربع الأول من العام المقبل. وأصر وزير الطاقة الإماراتي معالي سهيل المزروعي على أن "الجميع متفقون".


لم يستغرب محللي الطاقة عندما أعلن مساء الخميس الماضي أن 24 دولة من الدول المنتجة للنفط - 13 أوبك و 11 من غير الأوبك، وافقت بالإجماع على تمديد القيود المفروضة على الإنتاج المتفق عليها في نوفمبر الماضي حتى نهاية الربع الأول من العام المقبل. وأصر وزير الطاقة الإماراتي معالي سهيل المزروعي على أن "الجميع متفقون".
ويبدو أن منتجي النفط، بما في ذلك روسيا، يأملون في أن تساعد القيود المفروضة ذاتيا لمدة تسعة أشهر إضافية على استنزاف الفائض في الاحتياطيات النفطية العالمية، بل ستزيد أيضا من دعم أسعار النفط وإنشاء منصة لرفع أسعار الطاقة المتجددة.


"النفط الصخري"


وعلى مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية، تكهن المحللون بشأن الأسباب الكامنة وراء استمرار انخفاض أسعار الطاقة وما يترتب على ذلك من انخفاض في عائدات النفط، على الرغم من المبادرات المختلفة لوقف الأسعار المتدنية. وقد أجمعت العديد من هذه التقييمات على أن منتجي دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، بقيادة المملكة العربية السعودية، وافقوا على الحفاظ على الإنتاج عند مستويات قياسية في نوفمبر 2014، وذلك بهدف إجبار منتجي النفط الصخري على الخروج من السوق. في ذلك الوقت، في حين اعتبر النفط الصخري مربحا في أمريكا الشمالية على وجه التحديد بسبب ارتفاع الأسعار بشكل ملحوظ فوق 100 دولار للبرميل، يبدو أن الانخفاض السريع ولكن المؤقت في عائدات النفط سيجعل إنتاج الصخر الزيتي غير قادر على المنافسة. وكان من المتوقع أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تمكين المنتجين الخليجيين، ليس فقط من الحفاظ على حصصهم في السوق وربما توسيعها، ولكن في الوقت نفسه، التمكن من إعاقة المنافسة في أمريكا الشمالية.


ولكن من الواضح أن الأمر لم يكن كذلك. وأظهر منتجو ما يسمى "بالنفط الصخري" المستخرج من الصخر الزيتي في أمريكا الشمالية أنهم أيضا يستطيعون أن يزدهروا في عالم يبلغ فيه سعر النفط 50 دولارا للبرميل الواحد. وعلى مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية، تمكن منتجو النفط الصخري الأمريكي من تقليص التكاليف وتسريع الحفر في الوقت نفسه، مما يدل على أن إنتاج الصخر الزيتي يمكن أن يستجيب بسرعة أكبر لتغير ظروف السوق بشكل أكبر من المنتجين التقليديين في الخليج وروسيا وذلك بتغيير مستوى الانتاج حتى في فترات اخطار أقصر نسبيا.
وقد دفع هذا المحللين إلى النظر في كيفية قيام منتجي الخليج على وجه الخصوص بالتأقلم مع أسعار النفط في نطاق 40 دولارا إلى 60 دولارا لبعض الوقت. كانت هناك أيضا تكهنات هذا الأسبوع أن تسعة أشهر أخرى من القيود على الإنتاج قد لا تأتي بالنتائج المرجوة التي يفترضها المحللون.


الأهداف الاقتصادية لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي


لا يزال الكثير من النقاش الاقتصادي حول عائدات النفط المنخفضة مستمرا من حيث تصورات الصعوبات الاقتصادية لدول الخليج التي يفترض أنها لا تزال تعتمد اعتمادا كبيرا على مبيعات الطاقة من أجل صحة صناديق الصرف الوطنية. وفي هذا السياق، من المألوف أن يشير المعلقون على الطاقة إلى أنه بدون وجود الدخل الكافي من النفط، فإن الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي على وجه الخصوص، تواجه خطر ليس فقط من منطلق استمرار التقشف الاقتصادي بل عدم الاستقرار السياسي أيضا. ويواصل بعض المعلقين أيضا القول بأن هناك اتفاقا غير معلوم بين الحكام والمحكومين يقتضي بأن تحتفظ قيادات الخليج بقوتها وحقها في الحكم، على أساس تقديم إعانات اقتصادية سخية من المهد إلى اللحد لشعوبها.


وسعيا لتحقيق هذا العهد، قام بعض المحللين بتقييم أسعار التعادل المالي المقررة لمختلف البلدان المنتجة للنفط، والأثر الاقتصادي الذي لا تزال تحدثه أسعار النفط دون 50 دولارا للبرميل على صناديق الثروة السيادية والاحتياطيات المالية الأخرى. ويوضح الرسم البياني النموذجي الذي أعده صندوق النقد الدولي في العام الماضي هذا الافتراض جيدا، بأنه بين أعضاء مجلس التعاون الخليجي فإن الكويت وحدها قادرة على الموازنة بين ميزانيتها وأسعار النفط دون 60 دولارا للبرميل.


ومع ذلك، في حين أن الافتراض الذي يربط عائدات النفط بالرفاه المالي ربما يكون له ما يبرره خلال الحقبة التي كانت فيها دول الخليج ترفض بشكل روتيني مجرد "الاقتصادات الريعية"، فإن تحليل التخطيط الاقتصادي الأخير في جميع أنحاء دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي يشير إلى أن انخفاض عائدات النفط على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية قد لا يكون سببا للقلق البالغ الذي يعلنه بعض المعلقين.
وبكاد يكون من المؤكد أنه من قبيل المصادفة أن إعلان وكالة موديز للتصنيف الدولي جاء في نفس اليوم الذي عقد فيه اجتماع أوبك من هذا الأسبوع، حيث أنها غيرت تقييمها للتوقعات الاقتصادية لأبوظبي من "سلبية" إلى "مستقرة" وعلقت على الطريقة التي خفضت بها الإمارة الإنفاق الحكومي بنسبة 23٪ على مدى العامين الماضيين على النحو التالي: "استجابة فعالة وواسعة النطاق للسياسة تجاه البيئة النفطية المنخفضة". وتابعت موديز مشيرة إلى أن الإمارات انتقلت إلى خفض الدعم ورفع الأسعار عبر مجموعة كاملة من المرافق بما في ذلك الوقود والكهرباء والمياه.


وفي المملكة العربية السعودية، وفي ظل رؤية الأمير محمد بن سلمان "الرؤية السعودية 2030"، بدأ المخططون الاقتصاديون في المملكة أيضا في خفض الدعم؛ ورفع الأسعار، والتركيز على تنمية اقتصاد غير نفطي في المستقبل.
ووفقا لهذه الخلفية بشأن إعادة الهيكلة الاقتصادية، يقترح أن يكون سعر النفط الذي يتراوح بين 40 و 60 دولارا أمريكيا في الواقع، بعيدا عن كونه أزمة في الطاقة كما يصورها بعض المعلقين، بل يساعد حكومات الخليج لإقناع سكانها بالحاجة إلى مواءمة السياسة الاقتصادية بشكل أوثق حتى تتمكن دول الخليج الغنية من التنويع وتبعا لذلك زيادة التأثير في النشاط الاقتصادي غير النفطي.
في وقت مبكر من عام 2013، أظهرت الأبحاث التي أجرتها غلف نيوز في الإمارات أن كل أربعة من أكبر اقتصادات دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي تستفيد من مساهمات غير نفطية كبرى في اقتصاداتها، بصورة أكبر من الاستفادة من النفط.
وهذا اتجاه يتزايد في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ويؤكد على التوجه داخل دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي لضمان استمرار الاقتصادات الوطنية في التنويع بعيدا عن الاعتماد على النفط، وفي الوقت نفسه، تبني الفرص الناشئة من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة.
وفي حين أنه قد يعتبر نوع من التهور محاولة التنبؤ بشأن إلى أين تتجه أسعار الطاقة على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة، يبدو أن القادة التقدميين في الخليج العربي يرون أن تقلص عائدات النفط يشكل فرصة أكثر منها تهديد. فإن انخفاض الإيرادات يساعد القيادات على تبرير التغييرات الهيكلية الاقتصادية لشعوبها، وليس فقط كفرصة للاقتراب أكثر إلى المعايير العالمية ولكن أيضا لأنها تساعد القادة على تشجيع السكان على تبني التغيير وتطوير اقتصادات المعرفة في القرن الواحد والعشرين، لا لأنهم محظوظون بما فيه الكفاية لأنهم ولدوا في أرض تفيض بالنفط تحت أقدامهم ولكن لأن هذه الدولة هي الآن على استعداد لتشجيع ومكافأة رجال الأعمال وأولئك الذين على استعداد لقبول تحديات بناء مصادر جديدة للثروة الوطنية.
ويبدو أن معظم دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي تعترف الآن بأن عائدات النفط الزائدة هي لعنة أكثر منها ميزة. وإذا كان المواطنون الأفراد سيقبلون خفض اعتماد الدولة على النفط، فإن التأكيد على انخفاض عائدات النفط قد يكون مجرد حافز للقادة للتأكيد على أهمية التغيير